Throwing in the Towel?

I am trying desperately to work up until the 22nd of March or at least until I go into labor if it is to happen before then but this morning was just hard. I don’t know if it was because of daylight savings time, the fact that I slept for majority of yesterday or the bathroom run EVERY HOUR last night but I was EXHAUSTED when I woke up this morning. I rolled out of bed, got dressed, made a pot of coffee for C and packed my lunch but before I actually left for work, C and I talked about how I was feeling and the reality that I’m approaching 39 weeks and just may need to throw in the towel as far as work is concerned. Feeling bad for choosing to stay home, I called my job and requested an FMLA day. My mind and body were telling me to stay home and rest but I felt so guilty… Why must I be such a committed and dedicated person?

The birth pool is still going and so far, my grandmother has been knocked out of the race. Her guess was March 3rd. C and I walked a huge mega mall on Saturday hoping to speed up things and I’ve been drinking red raspberry leaf tea with fresh cinnamon sticks daily. I’m not sure how true these induction techniques are but I’m already convinced that this little girl will come on her own time. I’ve made peace with it. But I would be lying if I said that I’m not anxious to meet her. The next round of guesses say March 13th… I admit that 3/13/13 would be an AWESOME birthday but we shall see. 

I have of course progressed to weekly appointments and I was praying REALLY hard that I would have dilated a little when I went in last week… No such luck. Baby C is, however, in position and dropped down. We go back on Wednesday and I’m praying for some progression on the dilation/effacement front, although I know it means nothing if I haven’t yet. Some women dilate early and stay that way for weeks or months… All in all, I wanna meet my baby girl but who wouldn’t after being pregnant for 10 months.

So, for today, I will rest up and watch all of the baby oriented shows on TLC.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Throwing in the Towel?

  1. morasmum says:

    hang in there, you are doing great. It is amazing that you are still going to work, well done and don’t be so hard on yourself, your body is slowing you down preparing for birth, don’t worry.
    Baby C will come when she is ready, be patient she is almost here!

    Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

