Anatomy Scan & Gender Revealing Goodness

So, of course the best time to update your blog is while you are awaiting the touch down of an impending hurricane and taking a hot bath… Yeah, well, it seems perfectly logical to me… I simply hard rains and high winds right now and I’m dirty and you guys want to know what I’m carrying in my belly… and if you don’t, you can stop reading now. I won’t get mad, I promise.

Anywho, C and I went in last Wednesday for our big anatomy/anomaly scan. I drank far less water than I did the first time because I didn’t want to pee on the table as the sonographer pressed down on my tummy. We told the tech as soon as we got in her office that we didn’t want to know what the baby was. She responded by saying they only told if we asked. We explained to her that we were having a gender reveal party this weekend and she totally knew what to do. She began the scan and pointed out all of the major organs and such in this little one. It was so amazing to see everything and to know that everything is progressing and functioning normally. We even saw the little lens in the eyes. She did have me to empty my bladder at one point in efforts to get the baby to turn around and voila! It worked like a charm. After almost an hour of scanning and measuring, we were handed a string of sono pics of the little ones profile shoot and the tech proceeded to leave the room. I was a bit nervous thinking she didn’t see the gender but to my surprise so smiled and reassured us that see indeed knew the gender of our baby. She left out and the doctor came in to re assess and she confirmed the sonographer’s findings. We left the genetics center with yet another sealed envelope with the identity of our baby sealed within. We also left knowing that our baby measures on schedule as far as head and waist growth but the arms and legs are measuring almost 2 weeks ahead. C is ecstatic with the thought of a future basketball player!

And then, we had to wait until Saturday. We weren’t quite sure how the party would turn out but it was a blast! People arrived dressed in pink or blue depending on what they wanted the baby to be. They signed in by TeamPink & TeamBlue. We ate dinner, took an old wives tale quiz and before we knew it, it was time to cut the cake. C and I stood over the cake while all of our family and friends crowded around and cheered “boy” or “girl”. I was nervous, I’m not sure about C but we cut together and what do you know… a pink strawberry cake complete with real strawberry filling! We are having a little GIRL!!!!!! For the first time during this pregnancy, I cried! I’m so excited! I can’t be happier knowing that we have a little princess on the way! Now, I will have two C’s in my life and I couldn’t be more grateful! God has truly blessed us!

20121029-141315.jpg

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

