Re the RE…

Yesterday was the much anticipated RE (reproductive endocrinologist) appointment. C went to her last September and had a full work up done to make sure she had some time to wait on getting preggers since we decided I would go first and she is a few years older than I am. She was given the green light for waiting it out so we’ve been focusing on getting me knocked up as you all know. The RE even took C on a regular patient. I went to my regular OB/GYN before we started trying. I got an annual pap and began asking questions about home inseminations and such. My regular doctor is sweet and all but I began feeling like I needed to find someone new. I felt bad because she’s been my OB/GYN since I was around 18 but the fact that she wouldn’t send me for any additional fertility test or blood work left me feeling a little empty so to speak. All I had to depend on was the fact that my cycle was regular each month. 

After trying since January with no BFP, I called the RE that C went to and asked for an appointment to get a full work up. I also inquired about switching to her as my OB/GYN but the receptionist said that she didn’t see patients for regular office visits. Bummer. But I had an appointment. It seemed like May 14th would never arrive, but I printed out copies of my chart dating back to October and pictures of my cervix from my March cycle. 

I opted to take the day off for my appointment and since C was already off from work she would accompany me and we would be able to spend the rest of the day together. 

First of all, our RE is so cool! She’s young and she knows the dynamic of our relationship so there will be no questions about C’s relationship to me or the baby. I’m sure I’m the only patient to come in with all of the printed out data that I had but I would like to think that it assisted her in making her decisions. My u/s showed a great uterine lining. She saw both ovaries but couldn’t tell from which I had ovulated this cycle. She said it was normally to not be able to tell some times. She also said that my uterus looked stenotic and asked about my CM. I told her that I didn’t have a problem in that area. We discussed IUI in the future but C and I want to at least give the at home insem’s another run if we aren’t pregnant this go round. So, other than my luteal phase being a bit on the short side of things everything else looked fine. She prescribed progesterone suppositories for the remainder of this cycle and I am supposed to take a pregnancy test on Sunday if I don’t see AF. We are praying hard that she doesn’t show. She also said that she would take me on as a regular patient and that she only does so on a case by case bases. I called my old doctor’s office to have my records released IMMEDIATELY!!!

Oh, I also had blood work done to check my progesterone levels, my thyroid and they tested my blood type just to be sure that my memory of being O+ is correct.

In the meantime, I want to fall asleep on this here keyboard.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Re the RE…

  1. Crystal says:

    ALL GOOD THINGS!! I can’t imagine why the other doctor wouldn’t send you to get the work up done. Maybe she’s not a supporter of our types of families? Either way, woo hoo on getting some progesterone! J also has a short LP around 12 days. We opted to try and increase hers with a progesterone cream instead of the suppositories or pills 🙂 Can’t wait to see what Sunday brings!!!

Leave a Reply

