When did I ovulate?!?

So, as you all know from my previous post, I got my first high reading on Saturday, CD12. The monitor read as follows: CD12 – HIGH, CD13 – HIGH, CD14 – PEAK, CD15 – PEAK. I also got a positive OPK on CD13. We inseminated on CD’s 12,13,14 & 15 to make sure we covered all bases in attempts to best catch the egg. During our insemination last night, CD15, we noticed that my os was wide open. I mean the most we have ever seen it! Fertility Friend predicted my ovulation on CD14 but due to the readings on my CBEFM we were both sure that FF had been predicting the wrong O day all along. With that being said, we were both sure that I ovulated on yesterday. This morning I get up, take my temperature, turn on my CBEFM, and enter all of the data onto my FF chart… It says that I ovulated on Sunday, CD13… Now, I suppose there should be no cause for alarm since we inseminated all weekend and 4 consecutive days none the less, but I’m just confused as to which I should believe. My body, my monitor or my FF chart… The mods in the VIP forum say that everything is pointing to Sunday, CD13, but it’s not unlikely that I O’d a day later… All the same, we are now in the TWW. I’m praying hard that we have caught our little eggy. Who’s well versed with reading charts? What do you think?

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “When did I ovulate?!?

  1. Crystal says:

    Hmm, well… A positive OPK means ovulation will take place in 24-48 hours. It’s testsing the surge of hormone so if it was good on cd 13 and the monitor says 14/15 then I would say you o’d around day 14/15. Temp taking can be finiky. If you were sick or didn’t test at the same time everyday the variable will change…also stress can kick your temps off too! In this case I say trust your body and the monitor…and be less concerned with the chart 😉

    • iRadiate says:

      Thanks Crystal! The chart changed once I added my temp for Tuesday. It says that I O’d on Monday which leaves us with pretty good insemination coverage over the weekend 😉 … and now we just wait. 🙂

  2. Malissa says:

    Hey, I got a positive opk on CD12 at 7:30pm and then I got another one CD13 in the morning, but I didn’t have a positive one that afternoon tho, when did I ovulate??

    • iRadiate says:

      Hey Malissa! They say that the ideal time to take an OPK is between 11am and 5pm although I don’t think 7:30pm was too late to take a test. They do advise against using first morning urine tho since it’s believed that fmu would not contain enough LH to be picked up. But ovulation typically occurs within 12-24 hours of your first positive test. Don’t worry too much about the negative later that afternoon on CD13. I would have did the do or BD “baby danced” or inseminated, if you are going that route, on CD12,13 & 14 to be on the safe side… Shoot, do CD15 too if possible. There is still a high probability of catching the egg if you can get some sperm in your system the day before, the day of and the day after O. If you still have fertile CM still consider yourself within a fertile patch. Are you charting? Temperatures aren’t very reliable until after the fact, but you normally will notice your basal body temperature begin to rise after ovulation. Check out fertilityfriend.com if you don’t already have a chart there. It’s free to start one and if you have a smartphone, they have an app which makes it very easy to log your info. If you aren’t fond of the setup at ff.com, there are other sites out there that offer free fertility charting but I’m not familiar with them. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

