And hereeee we go!

Welcome to Hearts of a Feather…

The place where a writer needs to write about conception, hence the conception of this here blog. *smile*

I’ve created numerous blogs, and have yet to stick with any of them. The reason, I simply lose interest, get side tracked, forget all about it or a combination of any and all three of these things. That’s not to say that I may go without updating this one either, but the true reason behind the conception of this blog is my road to conception.

So, now that that’s out of the way, how about a formal, or rather not so formal since we are meeting thru a computer screen with these letters as our only form of physical interaction, introduction. My name is Nicole. My fiance’, who shall remain nameless to protect her rights unless she otherwise wants to be named, and I have started our trek into the wonderful world of TTC, that’s Trying To Conceive for all of you guys who feel bombarded with the use of acronyms. We are lesbians in our 30’s looking to soon marry and eventually, sooner rather than later, have a few pairs of little feet pattering thru our fully detached single family home. I mean, we live in a single family home so it’s only natural to build a family… Or at least we think it is.

Here we are with a few months of me diligently charting under our belts and the impending donor task at hand. I can’t promise that I will let you all up in our business, but I will check in every now and again to share what I’m feeling. As with any situation in life, I need a form of release, not saying that we don’t have an open line of communication but as a writer I need to purge at times and what better venue than this one. Also, the feeling of isolation as a lesbian couple trying to conceive can be a bit overwhelming in a society so hetero-focused. I intend for this space to not only be a place of reprieve for myself but as a source of information for another couple seeking support, advice, a listening ear or simply a place to read about what another couple has experienced. Trust me, we have had our fair share of folks hoarding information about their conception process, and by right that is their choice as to whether or not they want my fiance’ and I in there cervixes poking around for clues as to how to manifest a fertilized egg of our own. I just want to be of assistance while aiding myself in not tipping on to the brink of insanity or a nervous breakdown.

And for every person withholding information, there are 2 or 3 more willing to be of assistance. We are fortunate to have a great lesbian couple in our space who have been successful in their TTC journey. They are our friends and are eager to listen, support and coach us on. I simply want to pay their kindness forward. Don’t ever get discouraged or give up. I often times whispered this to myself but I know that all things will unfold according to God’s master plan and not one second before.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

